Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

Any possibility an older box will work with newer firmware?

The place for n00b questions, anything goes...no n00b too n00bish.

Any possibility an older box will work with newer firmware?   

Postby Oceanwatcher » Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:56 am

So... n00b I am :-)

I got an WD tv HD and tried to identify it, but must be looking the wrong places. I am guessing it is a version 1 model, but I thought I'd better ask here. This is what it says on the label:

WD TV - HD Media Player
WD P/N: WD00AVP-00
S/N: WNT291214959
R/N B4J
WDT - B4J(B)

There is no Ethernet port, just the analog ports, HDMI, one optical out and a USB at the back and one USB at the side.

I have a USB to Ethernet adapter, and was hoping to get it to work so I could play material from a server. I have already successfully flashed it with the old firmware that should work with the v1 boxes. But when I am testing it on my dad's TV, I can not get any audio from the video I am playing. Will find a couple of other files to test as well.

What are the chances that newer firmware will work? The one thing that would really make a world of difference for a box like this is to connect to a DLNA server like PS3 MediaServer and play material from there. I don't need anything else than that.

I guess it should be possible to try the EXT3 version as it runs straight from the USB pendrive?

UPDATE: I connected to the network, and it came up as WDTV-4d30a in the DHCP list on the router. So the Ethernet part is obviously working :-) I am able to ping the box, but when trying to Telnet into it, I am getting "Connection refused" both via Putty from Windows 7 and from CLI on Linux.
Last edited by Oceanwatcher on Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,

Oceanwatcher
User avatar
Oceanwatcher
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Any possibility an older box will work with newer firmwa   

Postby KAD » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:50 am

firmwares are not cross compatible

for gen 1 you'll want to look here
http://b-rad.cc/895/wdlxtv-enhanced-wdtv-firmware-0532/
http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=446.0

KAD
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: Any possibility an older box will work with newer firmwa   

Postby Oceanwatcher » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:54 am

Any special reason why I should not use the 0.5.8.1 version recommended on the main page of the wiki?

http://wiki.wdlxtv.com/Changelog_WDLXTV

BTW - check the update of the first post.
Regards,

Oceanwatcher
User avatar
Oceanwatcher
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Any possibility an older box will work with newer firmwa   

Postby Oceanwatcher » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:44 am

Finally managed to log in via Telnet and set password. But login via ssh was unsuccessful so far.

Is there a way to list the firmware version via Telnet?
Regards,

Oceanwatcher
User avatar
Oceanwatcher
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:43 am

Re: Any possibility an older box will work with newer firmwa   

Postby recliq » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:55 am

Code: Select all
cat /conf_src/version

at least this works on Live/Plus

Gen1 has only telnet built-in you need dropbear.app.bin for ssh. (I hope this is correct since I never owned a G1)
­WDLXTV Project Maintainer
-:] If you like my contributions feel free to donate for a beer or a new flash drive. ...and always remember: RTFM! (README, FAQ, WIKI) [:-
User avatar
recliq
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 5349
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:09 am
Location: Kiel, Germany


Return to n00b central

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests