Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!

General WDLXTV-Live forum

Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby dermeister20 » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:57 pm

Hello! This is my first post here also I'm a newbee at this topic!

I want to connect the wd tv live with an ethernet cable to my win xp computer and want that the wd tv live could access folder with movies but i doesn't work. I don't have a router and only want to connect the wdtv live direct with an ethernet cable to the pc!

Can anyone tell me how i have to configurate win xp and the wd tv live that this will work?

Do I need a normal ethernet cable or a crossover?

This forum is my last chance because I have everything tried and it will not work :(

Please help me! I have the latest b-radd firmware

Thank you very very much!
dermeister20
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer! (a   

Postby nicandmih » Mon Aug 23, 2010 1:12 pm

Hi, I`m sorry but u need a rooter! u can`t make direct connection.
nicandmih
Donor
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:46 am
Location: Romania, Constanta

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby dermeister20 » Mon Aug 23, 2010 1:23 pm

Some people in the internet write that it is possible but there is no instruction which settings i have to make :(
dermeister20
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby cavesprings » Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:00 pm

I had my xbox running XBMC connected straight to my computer with a crossover cable before I got a router. Haven't tried it with WDTV live. Here's a tutorial that might help http://jamus.co.nz/techthought/2009/07/18/crossover-networking/
cavesprings
n00b
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:38 pm

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby warfab » Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:03 pm

I believe in came be done by using crossover and putting both the WDTV Live and XP PC on the same subnet
warfab
WDTVer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby elteluk » Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:14 am

I've connected directly between my PC and WDTVLive before. You will need an ethernet crossover cable (same as a regular ethernet cable except the connections are reversed on one end).

Step-by-step guide here: http://community.wdc.com/t5/Networking/Network-file-sharing-tutorial/m-p/8300
Last edited by elteluk on Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
elteluk
n00b
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:08 pm

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby simplytb » Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:16 am

Yes, you can: http://forum.wdlxtv.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=861
If your network chipset isn't too old, a direct cable will work. Otherwise a crossover cable is necessary.

SimplyTB
simplytb
WDTVer
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby dermeister20 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:40 am

Thank you very much! Now i have a connection to my wd tv live! You are the best!

Now i have another question. My pc is now connected dirctly via ethernet cable to my wd tv live and the pc is also connected to the internet vui wlan. now sometimes the internet not works because the pc wants to connect to the internet via the ethernet cable. What i have to do that the pc uses the ethernet for streaming and the wlan for internet?

And it is possible to have access to the internet from the wd tv live over the wlan from my pc?

Thank you very much you are the best ;)
dermeister20
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Direct Connection from WD TV Live to Win XP Computer!   

Postby dopedangel » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:56 pm

dermeister20 wrote:Thank you very much! Now i have a connection to my wd tv live! You are the best!

Now i have another question. My pc is now connected dirctly via ethernet cable to my wd tv live and the pc is also connected to the internet vui wlan. now sometimes the internet not works because the pc wants to connect to the internet via the ethernet cable. What i have to do that the pc uses the ethernet for streaming and the wlan for internet?

And it is possible to have access to the internet from the wd tv live over the wlan from my pc?

Thank you very much you are the best ;)


Try bridging the connections in xp that is what I used to connect my wdtvlive to my laptop.
So now I can access the internet through the wdtvlive.
I don't use it for streaming from my lapjust for transferring my files
dopedangel
WDTVer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:32 am


Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests