Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

remote wont work

General homebrew discussion area

remote wont work   

Postby anshar666 » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:45 pm

so i flashed 5.1.1 on my live/plus but the remote wont work, well a few of the buttons work not all of them, not the ones i need to work to try and reflash it. i do i do now?

help!
anshar666
Donor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:46 pm

Re: remote wont work   

Postby Just-A-Nick » Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:23 am

Use the WebEnd Configurator to disable EIRI: http://ip-of-your-device, then click WDLXTV Config, uncheck EIRI and reboot. - BTW, this forum is full of comments on this EIRI-related issue, so forum search would also have helped you ;)

J-A-N
User avatar
Just-A-Nick
Supporter
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:10 am

Re: remote wont work   

Postby avkiev » Thu Sep 29, 2011 1:11 am

I have a similar problem.
Firmware 1.05.04_V_WDLXTV.COM_WDLXTV_LIVE-0.5.1.4
Message from Changelog:
** if you enable EIRI buttons down, right, & up buttons don't work on stock remote

In my case (Eiri is enabled):
original remote: UP/Down - doesn't work , Left/Right - works
external remote: works all except Down

What is the problem with Eiri ?
avkiev
Developer
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Ukraine, Kiev

Re: remote wont work   

Postby recliq » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:00 am

What is the problem with Eiri ?

Something changed in newer kernels, we haven't found yet what causes EIRI not to work properly...
­WDLXTV Project Maintainer
-:] If you like my contributions feel free to donate for a beer or a new flash drive. ...and always remember: RTFM! (README, FAQ, WIKI) [:-
User avatar
recliq
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 5513
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:09 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: remote wont work   

Postby avkiev » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:14 am

Most interesting that
"Up" key doesn't work at original remote, and doesn't produce any output when "telnet wdtv 14247"
But it works at external remote...
avkiev
Developer
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Ukraine, Kiev

Re: remote wont work   

Postby recliq » Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:26 am

because your external remote most likely sends different codes for UP...
­WDLXTV Project Maintainer
-:] If you like my contributions feel free to donate for a beer or a new flash drive. ...and always remember: RTFM! (README, FAQ, WIKI) [:-
User avatar
recliq
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 5513
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:09 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: remote wont work   

Postby avkiev » Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:19 am

recliq wrote:because your external remote most likely sends different codes for UP...

Ok, so - the question is: How to catch proper code for DOWN ? :)
avkiev
Developer
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:02 am
Location: Ukraine, Kiev

Re: remote wont work   

Postby Meikel » Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:57 am

Hi,

I´ve now tried to use my Harmony 650 but still WD Live is not responding when EIRI = ON iwth V 0.5.0.0

Is there anything i can do ??

*Cheers*
Michael
Meikel
n00b
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:19 am

Re: remote wont work   

Postby recliq » Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:30 am

Meikel wrote:Hi,

I´ve now tried to use my Harmony 650 but still WD Live is not responding when EIRI = ON iwth V 0.5.0.0

Is there anything i can do ??

*Cheers*
Michael

Because your Harmony is most likely configured for WDTV thus sending the same codes as the original remote thus it's not working with EIRI=ON.
­WDLXTV Project Maintainer
-:] If you like my contributions feel free to donate for a beer or a new flash drive. ...and always remember: RTFM! (README, FAQ, WIKI) [:-
User avatar
recliq
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 5513
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:09 am
Location: Kiel, Germany


Return to WDTV G2 & WDTV Live homebrew discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest