[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4326: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3501)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4328: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3501)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4329: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3501)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 4330: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /includes/functions.php:3501)
Latin America Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?
Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

Latin America Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?

General homebrew discussion area

Latin America Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby ricardocr » Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:38 am

Hello all
this week netflix service started to work in Costa Rica, I have a nice wdtv with 0.5.0.0 which says something like this when I try to log into my netflix account:
"For countries outside the US you need to get a newer device" 107

Well I know that something similar happened with canada, and that my device is suppose to be sold in US only but what i do not really understand is the real cause of this, over here we use the same standards than in the USA, I use other similar services and they work fine....
Why are the #$%# uys from WD telling me to buy a new device?
Is there a way to solve this? maybe there is an "If" saying "if the ip is not from the us, show an error"...

Somebody please help me :)

Thanks in advance
ricardocr
WDTVer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:29 am

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby RavRob » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:38 am

Check this out, it may apply to you as well
http://forum.wdlxtv.com/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=5202
Windows 10
WDTV Live
1.02.21 WDLXTV 0.5.1.4 (Beta)
Linksys - WUSB600N USB Adapter
DLink - Dir-655 Router
Atheros - AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
User avatar
RavRob
Supporter
 
Posts: 1399
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:57 am
Location: New-Brunswick, Canada

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby ricardocr » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:41 am

ricardocr
WDTVer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:29 am

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby KAD » Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:48 am

my guess is that WD has to add support for Costa Rica, they had the same type of problems with Netflix Canada, even though the device supports netflix, WD had to specifically add support in a firmware update for it to work in Canada

I'd post something on the WD boards, or call email a tech request to them to add the support

KAD
If you like my work please consider a Donation.
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions!
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby ricardocr » Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:55 am

Hi KAD, thanks
I already posted on WD and also send a tech support inquiry,
Could you please give me a little light on this? I am almost sure that if I use a VPN I could be able to access netflix US, so, are we sure this is an issue of the WDTV or Netflix?
I tried to get some asnwers from netflix, but they do not have any mail support...


Thanks
ricardocr
WDTVer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:29 am

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby KAD » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:03 pm

well, I'm in the US and have a live, so no netflix, but what you describe sounds exactly what happened in Canada last time, my thought is that WD needs to add support, as for a VPN, in theory is could work, I'm not a good person to advise on how to set that up, but in theory it should work

KAD
If you like my work please consider a Donation.
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions!
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby RMerlin » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:03 pm

Latin America need to buy a different device unfortunately, for some weird reason. They have two new devices Live Plus models to cover the latin america regions.
WDLXTV Webend maintainer. Visit http://www.lostrealm.ca/wdlxtv to see my other WDLXTV projects.
If you like my work, please consider .
User avatar
RMerlin
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:25 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby b-rad.cc » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:05 pm

PM's are for private matters only, please post public matters on the forum to help others who might have the same issue.
:mrgreen:
User avatar
b-rad.cc
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:35 am
Location: New York

Re: Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby ricardocr » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:12 pm

ricardocr
WDTVer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:29 am

Re: Latin America Netflix issue, is there a possible fix?   

Postby carlosapv » Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:23 pm

if possible send again the link i live in panama and the netflix show error but i have buy the wd in usa, i want watch netflix in this.
carlosapv
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:22 pm

Next

Return to WDTV G2 & WDTV Live homebrew discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest