Page 1 of 1

BASH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:22 am
by player_sct
one simple question... what i can do to start bash by default on every restart my wd tv life? (rootFS 0.4.2.0 and 0.4.5.3)

Re: BASH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:31 am
by b-rad.cc
bash isn't started until you spawn a shell...so use chsh and change your shell to bash ;)

Re: BASH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:33 am
by player_sct
chsh -s BASH root??

Re: BASH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:35 am
by b-rad.cc
can you execute the command BASH?

execute chsh and follow the instructions. available shells are in /etc/shells

Re: BASH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:50 am
by player_sct
if i type BASH , prompt change to WDTVLIFE[~]$

heh..prompt change so..it's bash :)

one more question - where is file with configuration bash shell?

Re: BASH

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:57 am
by b-rad.cc
if its that way then you have an alias set up.
Code: Select all
# BASH
-sh: BASH: not found


shell Profile is in the same place it is for every linux system ;) /etc/profile

You can copy it to /conf and customize it to your hearts desire as well.

Re: BASH

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:33 pm
by davo_x1
When I am trying to change the shell to bash [which I have located in /usr/bin/bash] I have:

Code: Select all
# chsh
Password:
Changing the login shell for root
Enter the new value, or press ENTER for the default
   Login Shell [/bin/sh]: /usr/bin/bash
chsh: cannot lock /conf/passwd; try again later.


At the end I edited the /etc/passwd file:

Code: Select all
root:x:0:0:root:/root:/usr/bin/bash


Will this break anything ?

Re: BASH

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:11 pm
by mad_ady
It should not break anything. But have a backup ready and if it breaks you can always restore to factory defaults