Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

BASH

General WDLXTV-Live forum

BASH   

Postby player_sct » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:22 am

one simple question... what i can do to start bash by default on every restart my wd tv life? (rootFS 0.4.2.0 and 0.4.5.3)
User avatar
player_sct
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:29 am
Location: Poland

Re: BASH   

Postby b-rad.cc » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:31 am

bash isn't started until you spawn a shell...so use chsh and change your shell to bash ;)
PM's are for private matters only, please post public matters on the forum to help others who might have the same issue.
:mrgreen:
User avatar
b-rad.cc
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:35 am
Location: New York

Re: BASH   

Postby player_sct » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:33 am

chsh -s BASH root??
User avatar
player_sct
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:29 am
Location: Poland

Re: BASH   

Postby b-rad.cc » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:35 am

can you execute the command BASH?

execute chsh and follow the instructions. available shells are in /etc/shells
PM's are for private matters only, please post public matters on the forum to help others who might have the same issue.
:mrgreen:
User avatar
b-rad.cc
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:35 am
Location: New York

Re: BASH   

Postby player_sct » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:50 am

if i type BASH , prompt change to WDTVLIFE[~]$

heh..prompt change so..it's bash :)

one more question - where is file with configuration bash shell?
User avatar
player_sct
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:29 am
Location: Poland

Re: BASH   

Postby b-rad.cc » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:57 am

if its that way then you have an alias set up.
Code: Select all
# BASH
-sh: BASH: not found


shell Profile is in the same place it is for every linux system ;) /etc/profile

You can copy it to /conf and customize it to your hearts desire as well.
PM's are for private matters only, please post public matters on the forum to help others who might have the same issue.
:mrgreen:
User avatar
b-rad.cc
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:35 am
Location: New York

Re: BASH   

Postby davo_x1 » Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:33 pm

When I am trying to change the shell to bash [which I have located in /usr/bin/bash] I have:

Code: Select all
# chsh
Password:
Changing the login shell for root
Enter the new value, or press ENTER for the default
   Login Shell [/bin/sh]: /usr/bin/bash
chsh: cannot lock /conf/passwd; try again later.


At the end I edited the /etc/passwd file:

Code: Select all
root:x:0:0:root:/root:/usr/bin/bash


Will this break anything ?
davo_x1
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:41 am

Re: BASH   

Postby mad_ady » Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:11 pm

It should not break anything. But have a backup ready and if it breaks you can always restore to factory defaults
User avatar
mad_ady
Developer
 
Posts: 4522
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:08 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania


Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest