Late to the party?

The place for n00b questions, anything goes...no n00b too n00bish.

Late to the party?   

Postby anime_guy » Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:25 pm

Hi,

I've been a fan and user of my WDTVLive for several years now, but I never ventured into custom firmwares before.

I've always used it just for streaming video from my PC and NAS. But, I recently tried the network streaming part if the WDTV (Netflix, at first), and I realized I kind of like it.

And I also tried a lot of those other streaming channels - the ones with the cheesy movies and old cartoons - and I like them too.

But, I *hate* the advertisements every five minutes!

So, I'm here basically to see if there is a hack that let's me put in some ad blocking software.

But I'm not sure if the hacked firmware is still being developed, if it can do what I want, and if it is worth the work to install custom FW, as opposed to using the latest stock FW. I'm a noob.

I have been reading the forums and I haven't seen any specific answers to these general questions. ^_^

I'm sure I'll get pointed to some FAQ I've read already, but I'm used to that. Thanks for any help.
anime_guy
n00b

Re: Late to the party?   

Postby mad_ady » Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:16 pm

I don't know if you're late to the party or not - it depends what device you have. Live/Plus is kind of end of support, though I'm working to bring wdlxtv to 1.06. If you're using SMP, then it's still being developed.

But advertisements? I never heard of them! What online services are you using? Suppressing ads should not be impossible - you could do some packet captures to identify the domain where it gets the ads from and change the domain to 127.0.0.1.

But we need more info - firmware version/device.
mad_ady
Developer

Postby anime_guy » Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:42 am

Ah yes, I always leave out the important stuff.

On the bottom of my unit it reads
WDBHG70000NBK-01
so I guess that makes it an SMP/Gen, right?