Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

How do I WIFI my Gen 2 with 8192cu WDLXTV_0.4.5.3.

The place for n00b questions, anything goes...no n00b too n00bish.

How do I WIFI my Gen 2 with 8192cu WDLXTV_0.4.5.3.   

Postby jjcandela » Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:07 pm

Hey, I'm new with WDTV Gen 2 and i'm trying to install a Belkin dungle with 8192cu chipset, wich is supported in this firmware (i've read somwhere).
I've flashed with 1.01.77_WDLXTV.COM_WDLXTV_G2-0.4.5.3.

I've opened my wlan without encryption and without MAC filtering. The net.config is:

Code: Select all
WIRELESS=TRUE
modprobe 8192cu
SSID="myssid"
DHCP=yes


My Belking switchs on the light as trying to connect, but i doesn't connect to the wlan.

When the wdtv g2 is switched off, the belkin stills has the light switching (I think it's a firmware problem as seen in the forum).

Thanks for all yor work.
Last edited by kroetkroet on Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added Code tags
jjcandela
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:50 pm

Re: How do I WIFI my Gen 2 with 8192cu WDLXTV_0.4.5.3.   

Postby b-rad.cc » Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:17 pm

hmmm....my guess is that that driver does not support iwpriv. try the following in your net.config:
Code: Select all
WIRELESS=FALSE
modprobe 8192cu
SSID="myssid"
DHCP=yes
sleep 10
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
iwconfig wlan0 essid "$SSID"
iwconfig wlan0 key open
iwconfig wlan0 channel auto
echo -n x >> /tmp/stopCondition
[ "`cat /tmp/stopCondition`" == "xx" ] && /MDEV=wlan0 INTERFACE=wlan0 ACTION=add /etc/init.d/net.agent


lemme know if this works and i'll change how 8192cu is initialized.
PM's are for private matters only, please post public matters on the forum to help others who might have the same issue.
:mrgreen:
User avatar
b-rad.cc
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:35 am
Location: New York

Re: How do I WIFI my Gen 2 with 8192cu WDLXTV_0.4.5.3.   

Postby jjcandela » Fri Feb 04, 2011 1:06 pm

Hey, thanks a lot for answering.

I've tried to change the net.config as you ask me to do. I've seen that the light flashes quickly for a second (more or less) and then slows the pulse and there is no response in the router (not connect).

What else can I do?

Thanks.
jjcandela
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:50 pm

Re: How do I WIFI my Gen 2 with 8192cu WDLXTV_0.4.5.3.   

Postby jjcandela » Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:18 am

Well, finally i've got a D-Link DWA-140 and it works fine :D
jjcandela
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:50 pm

Re: How do I WIFI my Gen 2 with 8192cu WDLXTV_0.4.5.3.   

Postby madbrainx » Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:56 am

How did you manage to do it?

I have to use WPA2-PSK though. These are my net.config and wpa_supplicant.conf

net.config:

Code: Select all
WIRELESS=TRUE
MDEV=wlan0
export MDEV
modprobe 8192cu
SSID=router1
DHCP=yes
sleep 10
ifconfig $MDEV up
iwconfig $MDEV mode managed
iwconfig $MDEV essid "$SSID"
iwconfig $MDEV channel auto
wpa_supplicant -Bw -D otus -i $MDEV -c /tmp/media/usb/wpa_supplicant.conf -d
echo -n x >> /tmp/stopCondition
[ "`cat /tmp/stopCondition`" == "xx" ] && /MDEV=wlan0 INTERFACE=wlan0 ACTION=add /etc/init.d/net.agent



wpa_supplicant.conf:

Code: Select all
ctrl_interface=/tmp/wpa_supplicant
network={
ssid="router1"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=TKIP
group=TKIP
psk=wdlxtv123
}
Last edited by kroetkroet on Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added Code tags
madbrainx
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: How do I WIFI my Gen 2 with 8192cu WDLXTV_0.4.5.3.   

Postby sirlasc » Sat Nov 26, 2011 12:49 pm

Quicvk tutorial anyone? how do you add .bin apps to your WDHD g2?

And how to configure from scratch a compatible Wifi adapter to a wdhdtv g2?
sirlasc
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 12:10 pm


Return to n00b central

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests