How to generate backdrop.jpg or Fanart.jpg

Support forum for the great ThumbGen software

How to generate backdrop.jpg or Fanart.jpg   

Postby canbonbon » Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:46 am

I have WDTV, google TV and an XBMC box. All my media files are on a NAS repository. I have been using Thumbgen for a couple of years to generate the following files (for a movie.mkv file):
movie.jpg
movie.tmdb
movie.mkv_sheet.jpg

Both googleTV and WD point to this folder on NAS are able to show the Cover Art and the sheet, so all was good.

Recently, I have added XMBC to the mix. XBMC needs
movie-poster.jpg
movie.nfo
movie-fanart.jpg

So in the absence of any other solution, I am using the generate extra thumbnail option to generate the movie-poster.jpg. I am also generating the movie.nfo. But I am not able to generate the movie-fanart.jpg in anyway. I see that Thumbgen downloads a variety of backdrops but does not allow me to save them automatically. Only in manual mode there is an option to save them by clicking the save icon.

Is there anyway I can configure Thumbgen to save the Backdrop file as movie-fanart.jpg? Or any other way to generate movie-fanart.jpg?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
canbonbon
n00b

Re: How to generate backdrop.jpg or Fanart.jpg   

Postby mad_ady » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:15 am

If you configure thumbgen to also save the tgmd file, you can open that (it's a zip file) and you'll find the original backdrop and fanart inside. You can then write a shell script to extract the fanart and rename it the way you like it. Bonus point - in order to preserve disk space try to use symlinks to your actual sheets.
mad_ady
Developer

Postby canbonbon » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:38 am

Thanks for your quick response.

>>You can then write a shell script to extract the fanart and rename it the way you like it.