Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4

Yes, this is your place to show off. Let us see what you're doing with your device[s]

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby king-raven » Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:43 am

Hi KAD,

Is there a chance to have a version based on the newest firmware (1.02.17 or so)?
Tried this FW and got new FW message and unfortunately clicked update - had to stockify to get the device out of loop...
I would prefer to have it running under latest FW...

Main thing that I want is getting around the 30MB limitation because I want to use linksheets.
Is there another way to achieve this?

Regards.
king-raven
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:36 pm

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby KAD » Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:35 am

resetter wrote:I believe the problem arises from not safely unmounting the USB drive before running the reboot command and so corrupting something that always seems to disable network connectivity. I've been reading the forum and there doesn't seem to be a clean way to unmount the USB drive while app.bins are loaded.
Is there a way to do so?


using reboot from within the osd, bypasses the shutdown, reboot, hault applets, and seems to access the hardware directly
since dmaosd is closed source we can't change that
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby KAD » Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:36 am

king-raven wrote:Hi KAD,

Is there a chance to have a version based on the newest firmware (1.02.17 or so)?
Tried this FW and got new FW message and unfortunately clicked update - had to stockify to get the device out of loop...
I would prefer to have it running under latest FW...

Main thing that I want is getting around the 30MB limitation because I want to use linksheets.
Is there another way to achieve this?

Regards.


unlikely, I've been working 10 hour days lately, so no time for WDLXTV stuff
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby resetter » Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:39 am

Thanks for the reply,
So are you telling me to use the reboot option in the web config rather than reboot in telnet?
I don't want to do either in case it corrupts my setup again!
resetter
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 am

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby KAD » Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:44 am

reboot from webend or from telnet could be modified, to first unmount the filesystems/drives etc ..

it's the reboot from within the osd that can not be modified

if the corruption is being caused by not safely unmounting the filesystem, then I do not have a good solution currently
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby king-raven » Fri Sep 11, 2015 10:02 am

KAD wrote:unlikely, I've been working 10 hour days lately, so no time for WDLXTV stuff


That's sad but it's ok.
Thx for quick answer.

Anyway you did great work.

Regards.
Last edited by king-raven on Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
king-raven
n00b
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:36 pm

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby resetter » Sat Sep 12, 2015 6:36 am

Being able to flash the Liverpool firmware would solve this issue, for what reason is it impossible to do so?

BTW guys, if you need testing done for the gen4 I would be willing to help.
resetter
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 am

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby KAD » Sat Sep 12, 2015 10:27 am

resetter wrote:Being able to flash the Liverpool firmware would solve this issue, for what reason is it impossible to do so?

BTW guys, if you need testing done for the gen4 I would be willing to help.


online service keys are erased, if a non-official firmware is flashed
you basically end up with youtube (not hd capable) and like 2 or 3 other online services

and there is no way to recover those keys again
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby resetter » Sat Sep 12, 2015 10:58 am

It really doesn't bother me that these services are removed as a result of flashing a custom firmware.
I dont use any of these services anyway, I mainly want to use the box as a mediatomb DLNA server.
resetter
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 am


PreviousNext

Return to Look at Me!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests