Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4

Yes, this is your place to show off. Let us see what you're doing with your device[s]

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby toby2k » Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:59 am

hi,

sry for my english :)

Today I've got my new WDTV Gen 4 with the newest firmware. So i've downloaded this one und tried to install, But nothing works.

Install Instructions
1. Download package above
2. Unzip
3. Edit device-ip.txt (included in download)
4. run win-homebrew-upload.bat
5. run win-homebrew-brewme.bat
6. run win-homebrew-status.bat
7. place wdlxtv-liverpool.bin on thumbdrive
8. place homebrew files on same thumbdrive (wdlxtv-liverpool.bin, runsit.sh, wdtvmediaplayer.bin.mpm, wdtvmediaplayer.bin.mpm.sha1sum)
9. plug thumbdrive into WD Media Player
10. Reboot Player
11. Confirm settings - system - about shows the firmware version as "01.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4"

my root includes the
wdlxtv-liverpool.bin, runsit.sh, wdtvmediaplayer.bin.mpm, wdtvmediaplayer.bin.mpm.sha1sum

nothing else, but it doesnt work :(
toby2k
n00b
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:55 am

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby JoeySmyth » Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:36 pm

If the Setup > About on the WDTV says "01.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4"

Then you have successfully loaded the custom firmware and you can configure settings via the Webend (enter the wdtv's ip into your webrowser)
User avatar
JoeySmyth
DLX'er
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Down Under

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby toby2k » Sat Aug 29, 2015 11:30 pm

Setup an WDTV says official 1.02.17

and this are the files an my thumbdrive.

http://www.directupload.net/file/d/4095/eg54yypj_jpg.htm



Where is the mistake?

I' ve run the bat files without any error. I have not run the bat files stockify and win stock telnet

In which usb port thumbdrive has to be?
toby2k
n00b
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:55 am

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby KAD » Sun Aug 30, 2015 10:06 am

this has not been tested against 1.2.17, rollback to official 1.1.30
then boot into this package

and it does not matter which usb port you use
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby JoeySmyth » Sun Aug 30, 2015 7:17 pm

Ok KAD, i just tested this with 1.02.17 ... it boots just fine :D (no need to rollback to official 1.01.30)

toby2k's problem is most likely his flashdrive ... i'm using an old 2GB Kingston formatted FAT32

i would recommed toby2k makes sure his flashdrive is FAT32 and if it doesent work, then try a different flashdrive
User avatar
JoeySmyth
DLX'er
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Down Under

Mediatomb?   

Postby resetter » Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:42 am

Hi guys, I'm new here.
Ive been able to get the custom firmware (Liverpool) running on my WDTV 4th gen and am fairly impressed at your work.
Problem, is I cannot seem to get mediatomb to function. I can see it in the 'Plugin daemons' menu, but when I try to run it I get: "Starting mediatomb: Failed!". Running it from telnet yields this output: "-sh: mediatomb: Input/output error"

I thought that maybe it is a bug related to ffmpeg (which is installed from RMerlin's site) but I'm not sure. Also tried Twonky but it says that the license is expired and I would rather not buy one unless I can get mediatomb working. Unfortunately miniDLNA is also out of the question as it cannot play live streams like mediatomb can (as I have tested in linux mint and enigma2).

Any help would be appreciated.
resetter
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 am

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby resetter » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:46 pm

Hey again.
I have managed to get mediatomb running perfectly on my WDTV (SMP). After messing about with Optware, I found that Entware is the successor and I was able to set it up without problem. Now able to stream perfectly. Thanks for your work guys!
resetter
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 am

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby resetter » Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:11 am

Hi.
I am using the latest 'liverpool' firmware for my WDTV media player (Gen4) and suddenly I am not able to connect (via ethernet or wifi) at all.
Have tried the (very slow) network settings and it tells me to retry or cancel. In the stock firmware everything works fine.
Any clues to how I might fix this?
Thanks.

Update:
I can successfully boot into WDLXTV with wifi working only when I have uploaded the firmware to the usb stick again, when I reboot, it goes back to not working, i.e. no network connection (wifi or ethernet), have tried to manually set the wifi settings but it refuses to connect. Any help?
resetter
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 am

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby KAD » Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:05 pm

haven't seen this issue before,

but the fact that it works when you upload a fresh copy of the firmware, seems to indicate that either the firmware or maybe just specific files are likely being corrupted, hence fails to work after reboot

besides that, you might try the "RESET EVERYTHING" found on the webend, or read the wiki for cmd line example
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: 1.01.30-EXT3_Liverpool_Plus-0.1.4   

Postby resetter » Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:35 am

I believe the problem arises from not safely unmounting the USB drive before running the reboot command and so corrupting something that always seems to disable network connectivity. I've been reading the forum and there doesn't seem to be a clean way to unmount the USB drive while app.bins are loaded.
Is there a way to do so?
resetter
n00b
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:34 am

PreviousNext

Return to Look at Me!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron