Page 4 of 4

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:30 pm
by KAD
you'll have to find out if that remote will work, by following the instructions in the first post

although, to my knowledge most remotes out there will work
there's only a few that don't

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:39 pm
by Stealth3si
Great! my URC WR7 Universal Remote Control worked right out of the box. all i had to do was follow the manual that came with the remote and the remote was able to "learn" the commands of the WDTV Live remote. great for those looking for an alternative universal remote that works with WDTV Live.

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:37 am
by recliq
Stealth3si wrote:Great! my URC WR7 Universal Remote Control worked right out of the box. all i had to do was follow the manual that came with the remote and the remote was able to "learn" the commands of the WDTV Live remote. great for those looking for an alternative universal remote that works with WDTV Live.

This is not what EIRI is intended for, you don't need EIRI for this.

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:52 am
by sorb
Can anybody tell me whether eiri is included in the firmware or not because i am not able to use it. I tried everything given here http://wiki.wdlxtv.com/Eiri
and here http://wdtv.elmarweber.org/index.php/tag/eiri.


When i try to telnet at port 14247 i get the below error and i have no idea what exactly is wrong.
# telnet 192.168.1.132
Entering character mode
Escape character is '^]'.

WDTVLive login: root
# telnet 192.168.1.132 14247
telnet: can't connect to remote host (192.168.1.132): Connection refused

Gen 3 Streaming Media Player FW Base: 2.02.32
Device: SMP
Current version: 0.1.6

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:42 am
by mad_ady
I don't think eiri is included in the gen3 firmware. Check the changelog

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 8:11 am
by sorb
In the change log eiri is not there. Is there any way it can be added.

one more thing if i am doing telnet on 10247 instead of 14247 i am getting blank screen but no ir codes.
# telnet 192.168.1.132 10247

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:58 am
by mad_ady
I haven't used eiri, but as far as I know it needs a kernel module and a userspace daemon. The daemon listens on a network port so you can control it, but it needs the kernel module to do the work. I don't know if eiri's code can be compiled against gen3's kernel or not.