Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

[How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

This is the place to ask for how to use software that is (or isn't) included in the various wdlxtv flavours. Questions about software such as rtorrent, NZBGet, sshfs, curlftpfs, ssh, telnet, etc.

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby KAD » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:48 am

that's sort of along the lines I was thinking, I think dmaosd log does show the full path at least for files that get played, but yeah, probably too convoluted to be worth the time, and yep if we had ext to work with all we'd have to do is read the @value to get the path for either a file or folder

KAD
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby capal4321 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:06 am

Question on programming a second remote

once i program the new codes for the 2nd remote, will it over-ride the original WD remote controller?

As regards the power button, it has two codes, ie i guess one for the on and the 2nd for the off function.
What code should i program for the power button? ie use the on or off code??

Thanks,
Michael
capal4321
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:39 am

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby capal4321 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:24 am

Sorry, one other question
WDLXTV firmware version 0.4.7.3 /

telnet into localhost 14247 and tried to get the codes from the 2nd remote control (an old satellite set top box remote from SKY).
got some codes and then the screen stopped showing me the codes.

I tried rebooting and connected via telnet again and the codes from 2nd remote was still not showing. If i use original remote, the codes immediately showed up on screeen.

What am i doing wrong?

Thanks,
capal4321
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:39 am

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby KAD » Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:38 am

the codes from the 2nd remote do not override the original WD remote

however: there is a known issue with 1.05.04 based firmware where it makes the WD remote unusable, all other firmwares both remotes will function, and with 1.05.04 you just turn off EIRI to make the original remote work again


as for your remote, not sure, but it is documented that some remotes do not work with EIRI, it sounds like it your case some buttons do not work with EIRI

KAD
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby capal4321 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:09 pm

KAD, Thanks for your response.
The sky remote was not working (only 2 buttons were working).
I found an old PACE satellite remote which was working.
I was able to telnet and enter all the codes.
However, some of the lines / codes got messed up (dunno why) and when i try to edit them, it even got messier.
I was wondering if it is possible to create the codes and entries in a text file and save it as a eiri.config file to be imported or flashed into the player using a usb key.

in the eiri example given in wiki, there are 3 entries for alias=HOME, ie one for HOME, one for TOP_MENU, one FOR MENU /
I used one code for all three, is that correct.

See below my codes (the second, third and forth entries from top.
If they look okay, i was hoping someone good with telnet, could create a config file so i can flash it.
Many thanks,
Michael



[POWER]
code=3726720132
type=alias
alias=POWER

[HOME]
code=3542891652
type=alias
alias=HOME

[TOP_MENU]
code=3542891652
type=alias
alias=HOME

[MENU]
code=3542891652
type=alias
alias=HOME

[UP]
code=3559603332
type=alias
alias=UP

[LEFT]
code=3409198212
type=alias
alias=LEFT

[ENTER]
code=3693296772
type=alias
alias=ENTER

[RIGHT]
code=3292216452
type=alias
alias=RIGHT

[DOWN]
code=3676585092
type=alias
alias=DOWN

[BACK]
code=3743431816
type=alias
alias=BACK

[STOP]
code=3308928132
type=alias
alias=STOP

[OPTION]
code=3392486532
type=alias
alias=OPTION

[REWIND]
code=3359063172
type=alias
alias=REWIND

[PLAY]
code=3526179972
type=alias
alias=PLAY

[PAUSE]
code=3526179972
type=alias
alias=PAUSE

[FORWARD]
code=3375774852
type=alias
alias=FORWARD

[PREVIOUS]
code=3476044932
type=alias
alias=PREVIOUS

[NEXT]
code=3593026692
type=alias
alias=NEXT

[SEARCH]
code=3609738372
type=alias
alias=SEARCH

[EJECT]
code=3325639812
type=alias
alias=EJECT
capal4321
n00b
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:39 am

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby Parduz » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:13 am

Working with the 1.05.04_V_WDLXTV.COM_WDLXTV_LIVE-0.5.1.1, I tried with an old Nortek DVD remote and it works. I saved all button codes and made a conf file.
Tha sad/ironic part is that Eiri can't read all the buttons of the original WDTV remote (it miss all the "Arrow keys" but the left).... anyway, as i own a Logitech Harmony 300, it is not such a problem.

My questions are:
a) should it be possible to make the remote "num pad" working? I dream to be able to "inject" the numbers and the letters in the "textbox" as if it was a phone keyboard .....which lead to my 2nd question:
b) how the key counter (that number which increases each time you press the same button) could be used in conf files and/or in script files?
c) I have not understood really the previous question about folders etc (sorry, as you are already seeing, my english is bad :oops: ) so i hope this is not the same: could i program a remote button that bring me, say, to "Movie"->USB2->MyCinemaFolder from whatever "page" i currently am?
d) Could i program a button that delete the current playing file? I will use it a lot while listening music (when i find a wrong/bad version of a song) but it could work also with movies.... this should be done by scripts, i guess, but the script should know what file is playing....
e) Finally, less EIRI specific question and more "general", there's a list of available "APIs"/Global variables that a script (wannabe) writer should know? (i'm a DOS / Windows programmer, i know nothing about linux, so sorry if this is a stupid question :roll: )
User avatar
Parduz
WDTVer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Bologna, Italy

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby mad_ady » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:18 am

I don't have answers for all your questions since I don't use EIRI, but:

a) There is a virtual keyboard by b-rad that can inject keys and text into the current selection on screen. See if you can use that and send the key strokes via your mapped keys
c) From whatever page - highly difficult and most likely not possible. From a known page you can manipulate the onscreen navigation by using irinject KEYCODE to "push" the virtual buttons to go there (so it would be something like irinject LEFT; irinject LEFT; irinject LEFT; irinject DOWN). Timing is crucial, since some keypresses might be missed if DMAOSD is not ready for them.
d) In theory yes, but it won't be pretty. Use the key to fire a script. Inside the script parse the ending of /tmp/dmaosd.log to find out what file was currently selected and apply whatever command to that file. Note that under 1.05 dmaosd.log is not written in real-time anymore, and it might be a while before you get the correct file in the log. You'll need to try it out with tail -f /tmp/dmaosd.log
e) Depends on the scripts you want to write. For general shell scripts (bash/perl/php), refer to the general bash/perl/php documentation. For wdtvext and UMSP there are developer guides on the wiki.
User avatar
mad_ady
Developer
 
Posts: 4552
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:08 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby kvdv » Sat Apr 07, 2012 5:04 am

Awesome stuff! I'm almost there!

However for some reason when enabling eiri I lose 3 keys on my remote (up,down,right).
All other keys work properly.

The telnet stuff doesn't even show any codes when I press these 3 buttons.
When I disable EIRI the keys work fine.
I've also tried not mentioning them in the eiri.conf, no results...

Any ideas on why this might happen?
kvdv
n00b
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:58 pm

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby recliq » Sat Apr 07, 2012 7:10 am

changelog wrote:
Code: Select all
** if you enable EIRI buttons down, right, & up buttons don't work on stock remote

known issue with original remote, no fix known for now. (EIRI doesn't make much sense with original remote anyways...)
­WDLXTV Project Maintainer
-:] If you like my contributions feel free to donate for a beer or a new flash drive. ...and always remember: RTFM! (README, FAQ, WIKI) [:-
User avatar
recliq
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 5513
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:09 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby Stealth3si » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:03 pm

N00b question:

Can i use URC WR7 universal remote control with wdtv live 1.02.21_WDLXTV.COM_WDLXTV_LIVE-0.5.1.1?

iF so, can i set it up on:

a.) fat32 usb flash drive
b.) wdlxtv web config end

and how do i do this?
1.02.21-WDLXTV-Live-0.5.1.1
MovieSheets+ 2.0.3 Phase 3
User avatar
Stealth3si
DLX'er
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:47 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Application Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest