Sign up here and you can log into the forum!

[How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control

This is the place to ask for how to use software that is (or isn't) included in the various wdlxtv flavours. Questions about software such as rtorrent, NZBGet, sshfs, curlftpfs, ssh, telnet, etc.

[How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby jamiroo » Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:47 am

Hello
Here is a small contribution:
Sorry for my english, i'm spanish.
since the b-rad's Firmware 0.4.1.9-4 the app eiri is incluided in the fimware, and i think that is a good app (is one of the reasons why i use the B-rad Firmware)
How to use another ir remote control to use the WD tv live
My tv is an lg, and the remote has 3 buttons to use others devices, the TV:), a DVD and a VCR, I use the DVD button for the WD
Maybe you have a tv with can use others devices, or an universal remote... or your remote is broken.... or i don't know...
Instructions:

make a telnet to the device,
telnet ip_or_name_of_wd
USER: root, no password (if you not changet), then execute:
cd ..
cd conf
nano eiri.conf
copy this content:
Code: Select all
    [POWER]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=POWER

    [HOME]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=HOME

    [TOP_MENU]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=HOME

    [MENU]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=HOME

    [UP]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=UP

    [LEFT]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=LEFT

    [ENTER]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=ENTER

    [RIGHT]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=RIGHT

    [DOWN]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=DOWN

    [BACK]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=BACK

    [STOP]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=STOP

    [OPTION]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=OPTION

    [REWIND]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=REWIND

    [PLAY]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=PLAY

    [PAUSE]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=PAUSE

    [FORWARD]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=FORWARD

    [PREVIOUS]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=PREVIOUS

    [NEXT]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=NEXT

    [SEARCH]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=SEARCH

    [EJECT]
    code=
    type=alias
    alias=EJECT


once we have all typed press Control + X and Y
run this command:
config_tool -c eiri=ON
config_tool -s
reboot the device typing reboot
once it is restarted, telnet to port 14247 of the wd (telnet ip_or_name_of_wd 14247) (use telnet, with putty I can't see any code)
Note:You can use telnet localhost 14247 if you are in a active telnet session
And now you can press the buttons of the new remote control. In the telnet screen you have to see:
4194679365:UNKNOWN:0 the "button_code" of ir is the frist numbers, unknown is the action and 0 is te numer of times pressed(i think).
without closing the other open telnet and edit the file eiri.conf, and update with codes that you return the Eiri-Telnet , you have to put in the code= string


once you have typed everything, use Control + X,and Y and reboot (i'm not sure if this is necessary,but...)

if you writed all ok, you can use the WD with the 2 remote controls.


NOTES

The WD can't use some remotes, or some buttos.
some times you have to program the Remote control to assign what another device you want to control (in my Lg is pressing for a moment menu + mute, then the led of the DVD or VCR button puts ON, then push 008, and MENU to save)

You can assign keys to commands or scripts, examples:
Code: Select all
    [CHANGE_LANGUAGE]
    code =  YOURIRCODE
    type = sequence
    alias = OPTIONS ENTER 1000 200 1000 RIGHT OPTIONS [the numbers mean waiting time]

    [RUN_SOMETHING]
    code = YOURIRCODE
    type = shell
    shell = /path /script.sh parameter1 parameter2


Another time, sorry for my english. :D :D

greetings
Last edited by jamiroo on Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:26 am, edited 6 times in total.
User avatar
jamiroo
n00b
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Reus Capital City

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby recliq » Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:12 pm

nice howto! i think we should move this to wiki ;)
­WDLXTV Project Maintainer
-:] If you like my contributions feel free to donate for a beer or a new flash drive. ...and always remember: RTFM! (README, FAQ, WIKI) [:-
User avatar
recliq
WDLXTV Team
 
Posts: 5513
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:09 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby Proxx » Fri Jun 18, 2010 4:53 am

Many thanx jamiroo

now i have one remote for the whole HD TV experience ;)
Proxx
n00b
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:52 am

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby simogere » Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:03 pm

Amazing!

Good work!
User avatar
simogere
Donor
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another ir remote control   

Postby jamiroo » Tue Jun 29, 2010 8:09 am

recliq wrote:nice howto! i think we should move this to wiki ;)

Now, added: http://wiki.wdlxtv.com/Eiri 8-)
thanks to all
User avatar
jamiroo
n00b
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Reus Capital City

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby KAD » Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:39 am

sweeeet :D

i've gotta do this, thanks
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby KAD » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:19 pm

well I can't seem to do this, can anybody help

I've successfuly navigated telnet to nano eri.conf and entered all the information, saved changes
run config tool
reboot

here's my problem, I'm trying to telnet to port 14247 so that I can get the ir codes but I get error
"cannot connect to remote host (127.0.0.1): connection refused"

any idea's why? gen1 titi had the same problem, I've got a live but same error message
http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1401.60
as I read through, it's not really clear if they found a solution, one suggestion was that no telnet server is running, but I'm able to do other things in telnet, so any ideas?

if I netstat -an I don't see port 14247 listed, maybe somebody knows how I can open this port

KAD
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby jamiroo » Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:33 am

KAD wrote:well I can't seem to do this, can anybody help

I've successfuly navigated telnet to nano eri.conf and entered all the information, saved changes
run config tool
reboot

here's my problem, I'm trying to telnet to port 14247 so that I can get the ir codes but I get error
"cannot connect to remote host (127.0.0.1): connection refused"

any idea's why? gen1 titi had the same problem, I've got a live but same error message
http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?topic=1401.60
as I read through, it's not really clear if they found a solution, one suggestion was that no telnet server is running, but I'm able to do other things in telnet, so any ideas?

if I netstat -an I don't see port 14247 listed, maybe somebody knows how I can open this port

KAD

Hi
you make a telnet form the same session in wd? try to use from the pc: telnet wdlxtv 14247 (if you not changed the wd name)
now, i'm not in home, wen i can, i try and say you something
if you can see the eiri='on' on the config file, and you created and saved the file eiri.conf (on /conf/ )the, the eiri deamon runs.

note:i remember the 14247 port, but here: http://wdtv.elmarweber.org/index.php/2009/eiri-r189-released-added-support-for-command-remapping-and-other-remote-controls#comments puts the 14147, i think that the correct port is 14247, but i not remember very good :roll: :roll: . when i go to home i try and post here something.
User avatar
jamiroo
n00b
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Reus Capital City

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby jamiroo » Fri Jul 02, 2010 5:37 am

yes, it's the port 14247 and you can telnet from the wd using telnet localhost 14247. in my home runs without problems.
the only you need is the file eiri.conf and the config_tool -c eiri=ON.
User avatar
jamiroo
n00b
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: Reus Capital City

Re: [How-To] Use eiri to use another remote control   

Postby KAD » Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:49 am

@jamiroo

thanks for the quick reply's I'll try again when I get home, I don't see anything different that you're suggesting, but maybe my eiri.conf isn't saving correctly, I thought it was, I'll also check to see that eiri is running, but I know I ran the config_tool, both via telnet and I tried the custom options with a reboot, as it can be activated that way as well.

suppose I'll be busy tonight, my dad made the switch from an original tvix to wdtvlive and wants me to set up his network tonight as well

KAD
If you like my work please consider a Donation. Donate
Please read the appropriate documentation before posting questions! READ ME FAQ WIKI
PM's are for private matters. Post support questions to the appropriate forum, or they will be ignored.
User avatar
KAD
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Next

Return to Application Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron