Web remote control development

Feature requests / enhancements discussion regarding the web interface

Web remote control development   

Postby mirata » Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:43 pm

Hi all

I'm a software engineer, and I'm keen on the idea of expanding the web interface to actually behave like a remote interface for the WD where you can choose media to play.

I would like to be able to browse network and USB drives for a start, and select a movie to play, which would trigger the device to start playing. Then i would move onto the actual remote, since functions for that already seem to exist in the current web end. I would be able to make an interface that would render nicely on phones and tablets.

I think I have the technical expertise to do a lot of this, but am curious about the particular hook-ins to the WD. For example, is it even possible to tell the WD to start playing a file?

Keen to hear if anyone is able to help, give suggestions or tell me it's impossible :lol:

Dan
mirata
n00b

Re: Web remote control development   

Postby mad_ady » Sun Jan 01, 2012 7:09 am

Sure it's possible. To play a media you can use upnp-cmd.php (run it without parameters and it displays a help listing).

Also, search the forum, because there are some apps implemented for IOS/Android which give this possibility to the wdtv. A version independent would be nice, but I wouldn't want you to encourage you to put in time and effort to implement something which is already done. So, first look at the features of the other software and see if you can replicate/add extra useful features (e.g. downloading subtitles, generating movie sheets, etc) to it.
mad_ady
Developer

Postby RMerlin » Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:24 am