Add custom webend user for website

Feature requests / enhancements discussion regarding the web interface

Add custom webend user for website   

Postby rikifeld » Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:10 am

Hi,

I will go into Webend section with this, even thought it could easily be put elsewhere.
Currently I have ddclient up and running and serving my WTLXTV Live to me and my household over the Internet. Probably the best private server ;)
Other than setting up torrents and serving ftp access I've tried to do simple website hosting/sharing.

I would like to achieve this with minimal intervention, and using only connected USB ext drive, and rw location on WDTV Live.
So, currently I did something very simple - created symlink from www-plugins to external drive directory with simple html page.

The page is accessible through http link mywd*****.dyndns.org/plugins/my_website. Great! :mrgreen:

But, I have a few questions for masterminds here who will know if I'm on a right track here.

1.) Is it possible to create new/custom user other than predefined "wdlxtv" user which could have access to my_webite and not to the webend itself (so, different permissions depending on a location)?
2.) Is it possible to remove user/password protection from my_website location, and keep "wdlxtv" user for locking out Webend?
3.) Is it possible to remove "wdlxtv" user/password in general... thus enabling free access from outside, even though it's very unwanted scenario? ;)

Thank you very much!

PS. I've taken into account two other topics that discuss website hosting, but I reckon this method could be easy workaround...
rikifeld
n00b

Re: Add custom webend user for website   

Postby recliq » Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:22 am

1) yes
Code: Select all
htdigest -c /conf/htpasswd WDLXTV-Webend <newuser>