WebControl to browse/play music/movies for WDLXTV-Live?

Feature requests / enhancements discussion regarding the web interface

WebControl to browse/play music/movies for WDLXTV-Live?   

Postby wondercow » Mon Oct 11, 2010 7:13 am

I'd like to browse network shares and play music using an iDevice (iPod Touch or iPhone) without the need to switch on the TV. There is a "WDTV Remote" App but it doesn't support network shares (and my NAS doesn't support DLNA/UPnP properly).

From what I read WDLXTV had a WebControl plugin to start media directly. Apparently it was not yet ported to WDLXTV-Live. Also I couldn't find the sources and decompressing the bin seemed much hassle for me who has nearly no linux experience. Now I think there is nothing available yet that does something like that for a WDTVLive.

I have lots of experience with PHP and DHTML/JavaScript, so I'm now trying to build a Webend plugin.
The idea is to "ls" the network share, outputting everything as links on the web page, then when clicking on a file, playing it like so:

Code: Select all
wget -q --post-data="<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><s:Envelope s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"><s:Body><u:SetAVTransportURI xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:AVTransport:1"><InstanceID>0</InstanceID><CurrentURI>file:///path/to/your/file.avi</CurrentURI><CurrentURIMetaData /></u:SetAVTransportURI></s:Body></s:Envelope>" localhost:port/MediaRenderer_AVTransport/control --header='SOAPACTION: "urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:AVTransport:1#SetAVTransportURI"'